Monday’s Not Coming

Comments 4 Standard

Monday’s Not Coming was the first book I finished for this year’s Reading Rush.

I listened to the audiobook of Monday’s Not Coming, so there won’t be any artsy pictures today. Sorry ~ Management

Goodreads Synopsis

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried. When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best—and only—friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?

The Good

Monday’s Not Coming is enticing, it draws you in like a vortex. It’s extremely difficult to put down. Taking a break from the story feels like a personal betrayal to both Claudia and Monday.

I love the mystery aspect of this story. It’s something you don’t see too often in YA, especially written like this. It’s also extremely realistic. These are events that I could see happening today.

The way the past experiences had an influence on the present day was very well done. There was a domino effect with a lot of what happened.

I could feel Claudia’s pain. She was the only one really trying to piece together what happened to her best friend and it did feel like the world was against her.

The romance was subtle and didn’t draw away from the story. Now that’s how a romance should be written.

The Not So Good

For the audiobook, I wasn’t the biggest fan of how the reader said some of the words. It lost some of it’s authenticity, but I got used to it.

All in All

It’s better to go into this story knowing less and learn as it goes on. I feel like this book would be perfect for fans of We Were Liars. I read it a few years back and Monday’s Not Coming definitely gives me that kind of vibe.

Have you read Monday’s Not Coming?

What are your favorite mystery novels?

What are you currently reading?

Let me know in the comments, let’s chat!

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Monday’s Not Coming

  1. Pingback: Odd One Out | Rae's Reads and Reviews

  2. Pingback: Growing Collection + Giveaway Wins | Rae's Reads and Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s